And the preparation begins…..

Well it has been a whirlwind turn of events over the last few weeks and now the planning begins in earnest. I’m about to embark on a two year journey to India and Malaysia, and hopefully many places in between. I have started this blog to share my thoughts and experiences over the next two years with any family or friends that may be interested, but probably more so as a place I can gather my thoughts and capture my experiences. The process started around three months ago, with me applying for a program with my company that featured international opportunities working on some exceptional construction projects, but no definitive destinations outlined. It was a few weeks ago that I got the call I had been selected and was provided some potential locales to work abroad. The one that most intrigued me was the option I would ultimately accept; an 18-month stay in Mumbai followed by a 3-6 month stop in Kuala Lumpur.

Since then I have begun the process of handling my affairs here in the States such as renting my home, selling my car, packing up the majority of my possessions for storage and probably the most difficult thing, selling a 1948 Stinson 108-3 Flying Station Wagon my father and I had purchased some years ago. While I certainly have an attachment to the physical object, it having allowed me to slip the surly bonds of earth and touch the clouds, but the more difficult aspect as we part ways is thinking about the special experience I have shared with my father in enjoying it together. As I begin this process of closing one chapter to start another, undoubtedly the most difficult aspect is knowing these shared experiences and proximity to my family and close friends will be more limited over the coming years. However, there is also much to be excited about; an entirely different culture and pace of life, new friendships, challenging projects, and exotic locales. In the coming weeks I will wrap up my affairs here in the Music City and after that I will travel to the other side of the world, prepared to absorb the scenes, the smells, the frustrations, the successes, and experiences the East have to offer.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Here’s to life in the fast lane.

    Like

  2. Always remember the times with your dad. Write them down so others can enjoy as well.

    Like

  3. Randy & Cynthia Spencer February 17, 2015 — 3:38 pm

    Evan – Good luck on your projects. Enjoy your travels and experiences because your doing something we all dream about. We will be following your blog living the dream through your eyes. Take care and be safe!

    Love,
    Aunt Cindy & Uncle Randy

    Like

  4. And so it has begun ๐Ÿ˜Š the journey. Glad that I was one of the interesting people you have met along your travels… Hope you find what you searching for and for what your not. May you enter a world of adventure, excitement and new experiences creating your own sense of perfection in an oh so imperfect world..
    Enjoy ….. I look forward to following your journey ๐Ÿ‘Œ

    Like

Leave a Reply

